NBA says that officials correctly called controversial Mavericks charge foul, but got another call wrong
yahoo -

The NBA is standing firm on a controversial offensive foul that directly impacted the end of the New York Knicks' win over the Dallas Mavericks on Wednesday. The Knicks escaped with a 113-111 win over the Mavericks after Brandon Williams' game-tying layup was called back due to a hook on Knicks guard Landry Shamet.

In the Last Two Minutes report (L2M), the league's assessment of the officiating in the final minutes of close games, the NBA said that officials correctly called the foul on Williams, which came with 0.6 seconds left on the clock. The call essentially secured the two-point victory for the Knicks, leaving Dallas stunned.

Brandon Williams' last chance bucket was ruled an offensive foul 👀

Was this the right call?

(via @espn)

pic.twitter.com/3Am500ftXh

— Yahoo Sports (@YahooSports) November 20, 2025

However, the NBA did say that officials mis-called an earlier foul. With seven seconds left on the clock, Mavericks forward P.J. Washington was called for a personal foul on Knicks center Mitchell Robinson, which the league said should not have been ruled a foul.

Robinson missed both of the two free throws awarded for the foul, so the call did not have an effect on the final score.

This story will be updated.



read more